It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:22 am View unanswered posts | View active topics |

Board index » Final Fantasy XIV » Final Fantasy XIV Discussion

Post subject: Where'd You Get Your Name: XIV Edition
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:05 am 
The Original Dark Knight™

I was driving home from work the other night, about where I started using my character's name and thought it might be interesting to hear about how others came up with their names as well. Considering this is one of the few outlets that we can essentially choose who we are and control how we're perceived by others a little bit more than in reality; the names we use reflect that as well.

I started using Rein back when I started playing Ultima Online with one of my best friends from high school. I used it in Ragnarok Online as well, and then moved from MMO to MMO until FFXI came out and it was already taken by a JPN player. So I added a -held and boom. Name. In just about every MMO my main character has been some form or another had the same name, in WoW I strayed from my normal naming mechanics and went by Malcavion for a bit when I played my warlock, Odhran for my druid, etc.

With XIV since we also have last names as well, I used Kelsier which is the first name of one of my favorite characters from the Mistborn book series. My cousin and her husband used similar names for their characters in Guild Wars 2, and I swiped it from there. I hate trying to be original with last names, haha.

How about you guys? Any interesting stories?

Post subject: Re: Where'd You Get Your Name: XIV Edition
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:25 am 
Spammer, to the max!

Used the name Kane from Shining Force when I first started doing online stuff around age 11-13, was taken on mIRC one day so used Kayne ever since.

Deschain comes from The Dark Tower series of novels of course, so when you notice a lot of those last names that's why, although I wouldn't change my name since I think it has a nice ring to it, lol.